DIY Summer Sunflower Sign

Sunflower is one of the best flower to describe Summer, sunshine. I love to see the size nd bright yellow color of a sunflower and how a single flower can make a lot of statements. Here I make a DIY Summer Sunflower Sign from pistachio’s shells. I made it in nude look as I like it in a little bit rustic style. It’s a great upcycled project to make for Summer decoration. Let me show you how easy it is to make this Summer Sunflower Sign with a beautiful lines that’s never gets old; “You’re My Sunshine”.

Things To Prepare

A short list of supplies to be prepared for this DIY Summer Sunflower Sign. Try to replace it with something similar to my materials if you don’t have the same one. Just use whatever you have at home like I do. I used recycled a few things and use some scraps from previous projects. I guess that’s one of a best way to stay sustainable. Let’s see what are the list of supplies for this DIY Summer Sunflower Sign :

  • Pistachio’s Shells
  • Black card paper
  • Circle -cut cardboard
  • White acrylic paint
  • A checkboard ribbo
  • Hot glue

How To Make

It’s an easy Summer project which you can make in a short time. I don’t think you need to spend too much time on all seasonal handmade decorations. Anyway, follow these easy steps on how to do DIY Summer Sunflower Sign :

1 . Separate all pistachio’s shells into 3 groups by their sizes, big, medium and small.

2. The a circle-cut cardboard and cover it with a black card paper. Glue it nicely.

3. Start to glue a pistachio’s shell from a big group and paste it on the outer part of the black cardboard circle. One by one until a whole circle. Then, continue it with the medium shells and end it on the third circle by the small shells.

4. Now you can write a summer sign, I wrote “You’re My Sunshine” for my Summer sign by using white marker.

5. To finish it off, attach a checkboard ribbon as a hanger for the Sunshine Sign. Done!

Easy to make and a great recycling project for Summer decoration. You can display it with the rest of your Summer decorations or in front of your door. So, don’t just throw your pistachio’s shells! Use them creatively like I did with my DIY Summer Sunflower Sign.

This DIY Summer Sunflower Sign project is my contribution to The Sustainable Craft Challenge Blog Hop hosted by Julie with her beautiful blog Sum of Their Stories. It’s a craft challenge with a sustainable principle behind it (upcycling, recycling, repurposing), which comes in different theme for every month. This month, the theme is “Sunshine” and the last seven months (ther is one month absent which is in July) were “FRESH“, “FLOWER“, “SPRING“, “SOFT“, “LOVE” and “WARM“. I love to be part of this challenge as I love to upcycle things into something new, beautiful and useful.

Now, let’s see what other blogger’s projects!

Sum of their StoriesSunburst Greeting Card idea made with Old Magazines
Our Good LifeDIY Resin Suncatchers
Purple Hues and MeSun Painting Bandana DIY
Decor Craft DesignDIY Summer Sunflower Sign
CrazylittlelovebirdsCreating faux stained glass using plastic plates
Southern SunflowersSunburst Artwork using Paper DIY
Christine’s CraftsEasy Button Flowers for Home Decor
Life as a LEO WifeBox Full of Sunshine Idea with Free Printables

For more of my future Summer posts, please follow me! And if you wanted to add my creations to your Pinterest boards, please follow me on Pinterest! Also find me on Instagram and Twitter!

For creative fellow bloggers, don’t forget to join You’re The Star” Blog Hop, Happiness Is Homemade Link Party and Home Matters Linky! Link your inspiring posts (anything, from recipes, home decor, DIYs, crafts, family, health to gardening) every Monday and Sunday. Get a change to be featured! I’m one of the co-host of You’re The Star blog hop for Creative Week and Happiness Is Homemade; I will choose the creative posts to be featured on Creative Features week and on Happiness Is Homemade. Please come and join the party!

12 thoughts on “DIY Summer Sunflower Sign”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.