DIY Spring Wreath – Upcyling Rattan Basket

Still with a Spring theme, our April Challenge Theme is Welcoming Spring. I think one of the best way to Welcoming Spring is to hang A Spring Wreath at home or front door. Then, I start to look for inspiration on Pinterest, and I found this very simple Easy Spring Wreath. I love the simplicity because to me, less is more. From there, I started with upcycling my rattan handle that I have kept for quite a while. I got it from a rattan basket which I have turned into A Rattan Basket Tray. But before I share with you steps on how I make The DIY Spring Wreath by upcyling rattan basket, let me explain a bit about The Sustainable Pinterest Challenge.

The Pinterest Challenge has had a bit of a reboot for 2022 and is now the Sustainable Pinterest Challenge. Each month I join a group of creative bloggers and we select a pin or two that we feel inspired by and give it a go. Starting in January 2022 the Pinterest Challenge has a sustainable, eco friendly twist to it. All the projects shared will have something about them that involves recycling, upcycling, a general ethos of reducing waste and using what we have. It’s not about beating ourselves with a stick, it’s just about giving thought to how we can make small changes in our lives just a little more sustainable and reduce our impact on the environment.

Last month’s theme challenge was “Floral” and I made an DIY Painted Upcycled Mug with tulips. For this month theme “Welcoming Spring” and of course a sustainable as a base to any of our challenge projects, I made use of my rattan basket handle and made a DIY Spring Wreath from Upcycling Rattan Basket. Last challenge, I presented tulips and on this Welcoming Spring Challenge, I presenting lavender flowers.

Things To Prepare

I love the rattan handle look, so I just use it as it is. It’s already stand out with its character. I also use my previous project as a decoration for the Spring wreath, which is my Mini Spring Flower Cart that I made from upcycling tin cart. yes, this Spring wreath is load with upcycling materials. I even use the ribbon bow that I re-use from a flower bouquet. Anyway, let’s see what are the complete supplies that I used to make this DIY Spring Wreath:

  • A rattan basket handle
  • Creamy white ribbon bow (satin and organdy)
  • Lavender artificial flowers
  • A mini spring flower cart (I fill up some artificial moss inside the cart)
  • Hot glue
  • Rope

How To Make

It’s actually very simple to make my Spring Wreath. Only took me a few easy steps to finish my lavender wreath. Now, gather all the supplies which I’ve mentioned above and follow these easy steps on how to make DIY Spring Wreath from upcycling rattan basket :

1 . Take the rattan handle and and bend it into a loop and secure it with rope, tide tightly!

2. Get your beautiful lavenders (fresh or artificial, is up to you; mine is artificial lavenders) and bend it along the rattan loop, facing both left and right. Secure it.

3 .Then I use my mini spring flower cart with the words “Spring Flowers” as a Spring sign

4. Give the final touch to the wreath with a neutral color ribbon bows on top of the rattan loop. And you’re done!

Super easy and simple, right? And I didn’t spent much money for it, because my supplies were all used and scraps that I had. I just need to buy the artificial lavender, but if you have fresh lavender on your backyard, then this project won’t cost you any money. So, have fun with your own version of simple Spring Wreath from upcycling something and Happy Spring everyone!

Now let’s take a look at what the other Sustainable Pinterest Challenge participants have made for their “Welcoming Spring” challenge.

Julie | Sum of their Stories

Gail | Purple Hues and Me

Terri | A Good Life

Lydia | Life Beyond the Kitchen

T’onna | Sew Crafty Crochet

Julie | Treasures Made From Yarn

Allyson | Southern Sunflowers

Mel | Decor Craft Design

Niki | Life as a LEO Wife

Linda | Crafts a la Mode

Here are the projects :

Button Bouquet in a Cotton Reel

Woven Cord Basket

Chalk Paint Vase for Spring Flowers

Crochet Butterflies

Floral Tray Pouch

Fluffy Crochet Duster Cover for Spring Cleaning

Painted Bunnies on Wood for Easter

Braided Chunky Yarn Wreath

DIY Spring Wreath – Upcycling Rattan Basket

Homemade Cotton Bunny

welcome spring 1

 

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=a8b40ada7693d64e5923

For more of my futureSpring posts, please follow me! And if you wanted to add my creations to your Pinterest boards, please follow me on Pinterest! Also find me on Instagram and Twitter!

For creative fellow bloggers, don’t forget to join You’re The Star” Blog Hop, Happiness Is Homemade Link Party and Home Matters Linky! Link your inspiring posts (anything, from recipes, home decor, DIYs, crafts, family, health to gardening) every Monday and Sunday. Get a change to be featured! I’m one of the co-host of You’re The Star blog hop for Creative Week and Happiness Is Homemade; I will choose the creative posts to be featured on Creative Features week and on Happiness Is Homemade. Please come and join the blog hop and I would love to see you there! Please join and share the news!

26 thoughts on “DIY Spring Wreath – Upcyling Rattan Basket”

  1. That is just SO clever! I was thinking did you have 2 handles that you joined to make a circle at first but no, just one long one bent round! Fantastic! I love the pretty lavender and the way you used the cart as an extra embellishment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I used a rattan basket handle which the basket I had made into a basket tray before. It’s a long handle, so it fits as a medium wreath. Zero waste for the rattan basket. Thanks Julie!

      Like

    1. The font is from my handwriting :D! It’s faster for me to do a handwriting instead of using printed letters. Thank you so much, Allyson!

      Like

  2. It is absolutely amazing that you took a basket handle and made a wreath out of it!! I love it! Pinned to my Spring board on Pinterest, too! Best wishes, Linda @craftsalamode.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.