DIY Raised Pot for Summer Decor

I love to imitate something by using unused things. Yes, the meaning is to upcycling something into a faux of beautiful thing. This time I made a raised pot by using cookie’s tin and unused brass cup. I wanted to mix the old look of the brass and the modern look of the simple white tin. I love to get the old modern look together in my creations. I don’t like too antique but I don’t want it to be plain cold modern.

Things To Prepare

I’m sure you can get a tin bucket easily, whether is a vintage tin bucket, cookie’s tin or others. Try to replace it with something similar to my materials if you don’t have the same one. Just use whatever you have at home like I always do. Use more recycled things and use some scraps from previous projects. I guess that’s one of a best way to be sustainable. Let’s see what are the list of supplies for this DIY Raised Pot for Summer Decor:

  • medium size tin bucket ( I use a cookie’s tin)
  • small size tin bucket
  • a pair of drawer handle ( I painted into white)
  • gold paint
  • white paint
  • metal glue

How To Make

It’s an easy Upcycled project which you can make in a short time. Anyway, follow these easy steps on how to do DIY Raised Pot for Summer Decor:

1. Paint both tins with white paint as a base. Let it dry. Make sure it was cleaned before you paint it. Continue to paint the small tin with gold paint.

2 .Install a pair of drawer handle on both sides on the medium white tin by using metal glue.

3. Now glue the gold tin on the bottom of the white tin. Let it dry. Done!

A great recycling project for Summer decor. I took some of my mini cacti collections and arranged it nicely in the raised pot. I combined different textures and heights of the cacti so it would look beautiful. You can use faux cacti or succulents. Some lemons and limes mixed with chrysanthemums would look beautiful too.

DIY Raised Pot for Summer Decor project is my contribution to The Sustainable Craft Challenge Blog Hop hosted by Julie with her beautiful blog Sum of Their Stories. It’s a craft challenge with a sustainable principle behind it (upcycling, recycling, repurposing), which comes in different theme for every month. This month, the theme is “Trash to Treasure” and February challenge was “Heart” and I made DIY Valentine Heart Sign Upcycled Pistachio Shells. April, the theme was “Vibrant” and I made Upcycled Spring Sign from Bottle Caps. Last Month, the theme was Typography” and I made DIY Spring Tin Bucket Vase. I love to be part of this challenge as I love to upcycle things into something new, beautiful and useful.

Now, let’s see what other blogger’s projects!

Sum of their StoriesUpcycled Strawberry Vase
Our Good LifeRecycled Altoid Tin for the Perfect Fathers Day GIft
Purple Hues and MePlastic Soda Bottle Floral Candleholder
Decor Craft DesignDIY Raised Pot for Summer Decor
Southern SunflowersDIY Shell Mirror for Coastal Decor
A Rose Tinted WorldHow To Make A Crumb Quilt – Make A Scrappy Quilt Block
Christine’s CraftsCreate a Cute Basket from an Aerosol Lid
Mimi – A Great Name for GrandmaDIY Upcycled Yard Skeleton

For more of my future Summer posts, please follow me! And if you wanted to add my creations to your Pinterest boards, please follow me on Pinterest! Also find me on Instagram and Twitter!

For creative fellow bloggers, don’t forget to join You’re The Star” Blog Hop, Happiness Is Homemade Link Party and Home Matters Linky! Link your inspiring posts (anything, from recipes, home decor, DIYs, crafts, family, health to gardening) every Monday and Sunday. Get a change to be featured! I’m one of the co-host of You’re The Star blog hop for Creative Week and Happiness Is Homemade; I will choose the creative posts to be featured on Creative Features week and on Happiness Is Homemade. Please come and join the party!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.